Go Back   Polykarbon Art Forum > COMMUNITY > Member Created Tutorials
Register FAQ Members List Arcade IRC Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-02-2005, 02:39 PM   #1
Jeanox
Hapless Ninny

Awards Showcase
1st Place:  - Issue reason: Epic Summer Contest '06 2nd Place:  - Issue reason: Time Lapse Contest '09 2nd Place:  - Issue reason: Valentines Contest '06 2nd Place:  - Issue reason: Team Battle '06 2nd Place:  - Issue reason: New Year '07 
Total Awards: 6

Send a message via Skype™ to Jeanox
Default Photoshop Workspace

Alright, first off, I've never written an art-related tut before, so bear with me.

This is the workspace I've come to like over the couple years I've been photoshopping. It seems to be a bit more fluant to work in than the clunky default.

This layout is minimalistic, meaning that you strip everything down to only what you readily use and navigate mostly through keyboard shortcuts. This may sound complicated, but it really makes painting a lot easier and quicker once you get it down.

Step One: Familiarization
First off, in order to use this layout, you will need to be familiar with several photoshop shortcuts:

***Green Text = Painting Shortcuts***
***Blue Text = Navigation Shortcuts***

B = Brush
with brush tool selected...
Alt = Quick Eye Dropper (makes color selection easy)
Alt + Space = Quick Zoom Out
Ctrl + Space = Quick Zoom In
Ctrl = Quick Move Tool (don't use it that often, but handy)
Space = Quick Hand Tool (helps move where you're looking)

E = Eraser
R = Smudge Tool (don't abuse this tool, crazy bastages!)

Ctrl + Alt + 0 = Actual Pixels (zooms in/out to actual pixel size)
Ctrl + 0 = Fit on Screen (conveeeenient)

F = Toggles Page style (regular, white bg, black bg)
Tab = Show/Hide Pallets

It is not complicated to use shortcuts once you're used to it. Seriously, I paint with my right hand and always keep my left on the keyboard.

Step Two: Scrapping Default